chimamanda ngozi adichie best fashion looks on instagram

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: Model in Disguise?

Instagram (@chimamanda_adichie)

If you’re honest with yourself, you’ve probably cyber-stalked followed your favorite writers on Instagram. One of my favorite writers to watch is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, whom I started following about a week ago. Since then, I’ve learned something particularly uncanny about the Nigerian-born author: she’s been living a secret life this entire time.

As I mindlessly scrolled through the Americanah writer’s Instafeed the other day, to my surprise, sis has been casually dropping dimes on her double life, as a supermodel. While most writers have used the platform as a vessel for promoting their forthcoming works or speaking engagements, Adichie has transformed hers into a lookbook.

All this time she’s been teaching the girls how to slay an outfit on any given day. But don’t just take my word for it, honey.

Check out Lady Chimamanda effortlessly slaying the hell outta all these fabrics, below.

Dress: Ladunni Lambo, Lagos (Dior Haute Couture Show,Paris) @ladunnilambo #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Iola, Lagos (Dior 70th Anniversary celebration, Paris) @official_iola #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Ladunni Lambo, Lagos (Dior Haute Couture Show, Paris) @ladunnilambo #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

TEACH US, SIS!!!!

Top and Skirt: Gozel Green (Lagos) @gozelgreen #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: MsBeeFab (Press, Lagos) @msbeefab #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Trousers and jacket: House of Caacun (Ellicott City Library Author Salon) @houseofcaacuun #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Top: The Muse Factory, Lagos Shorts: Tailor Razak, Lagos (Press) @themusefactory_ #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Outfit: Things Nigerians Love (Press. New York City) @tnldesigns Makeup: @kingmalimagic #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Totally Ethnik, Lagos (Commencement speaker, Williams college) @totally.ethnik #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Outfit: Wana Sambo, Lagos (Williams College commencement dinner) @wanasambo #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Jumpsuit: Zohi Taglit, Abuja (Mary McCarthy Prize, Bard College) @zohi_taglit #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: msbeefab, Lagos @msbeefab @Dior #MadeInNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Top: Iola, Lagos Skirt: Grey, Lagos (826DC) @greyprojects @official_iola #MadeInNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: House of Rev, Lagos (Honorary Degree conferment, Haverford College) @houseof_rev #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: She's deluxe, Abuja (American Academy of Arts and Letters Induction ceremony, New York) @sheisdeluxe #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Moofa, Lagos (National Museum of African American History and Culture, Washington DC) @moofadesigns #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Top: Vicky Heldan, Lagos Skirt: Nuraniya, Lagos (Citylit festival, Baltimore) @nuraniyastudios @vickyheldan #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Uju Estelo, Lagos (Dior event, Los Angeles) @ujuestelo #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Suit: Mae Otti, Lagos (Dior event, Los Angeles) @mae_otti #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Bag: Dot Fashions, Lagos. Outfit: Custom Dior (Dior Cruise show, Los Angeles) @dotfashions #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Shirt and pants: Vonne, Lagos (Celebrating DEAR IJEAWELE, Toronto) @vonneofficiel #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Kareem Amak, Lagos (Celebrating DEAR IJEAWELE, Baltimore) @kareemamak #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: The Ladymaker, Lagos @the_ladymaker @zinkata1 #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Skirt and top: Gozel Green, Lagos (Celebrating DEAR IJEAWELE, London) @gozelgreen #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Top: GREY, Lagos (Celebrating DEAR IJEAWELE, London) @greyprojects #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Which of Adichie’s ensembles was your favorite?

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

Paris Close
the authorParis Close
Editor-in-chief at Paperback Paris. Saving myself for Andy Cohen. Give me Gillian Flynn, or give me death.